Dog Laws In Arizona
A person injured from a dog bite can recover from the dog owner, provided the injured person was not provoking the dog or trespassing. This is referred to as “strict liability” And means the dog owner is liable irrespective of knowledge of the dog’s viciousness.
This standard does not apply to injuries caused by dogs in a manner other than a bite, such as a knockdown. A dog owner may be liable for injuries caused by a knockdown, upon a showing of negligence.
A landlord is generally not liable for injuries caused by a tenant’s dog. If, however, landlord becomes aware of the presence of a dangerous dog in a tenant’s home, and does nothing to remove the dog, the landlord may be liable to the injured person.
Arizona law does not permit lawsuits for damages against any governmental agency using a dog in military or police work, if the bite occurred while the dog was defending itself from a provoking act or assisting an employee of the agency in certain official actions, such as executing a search warrant.
Damages that can be recovered depend upon the nature and extent of injury, medical expenses, future medical expenses, lost wages, loss of earnings capacity, periods of total and/or partial disability, physical pain and mental suffering, disfiguring scarring, permanency of injury, and loss of consortium.
STATUTE OF LIMITATION:
In Arizona, the statute of limitations is one (1) year from the date of injury for a dog bite. This means you must file a lawsuit against the owner/keeper of the dog within that time, or you will be forever time barred from pursuing a case.
Under another Arizona statute of limitation, a lawsuit for injuries caused by a dog in a manner other than a bite [such as a knockdown or while fleeing from a dog] a claim must be filed within two (2) years of the date that the injury happened, or or you will be forever time barred from pursuing a case.
Ariz. Rev. Statutes, §11-1025
Injured By A Dog?
The information provided on this website is for general informational purposes only. The information on this site is not legal advice, and no attorney-client relationship is formed through the use of this website. Laws relating to dog injuries can, and do, change. To learn your legal rights, contact The Snow Law Firm, or contact a licensed and experienced attorney in your state.
MINOR STATUTE OF LIMITATION RULE:
In most states, when a minor is bitten or injured by a dog, the statute of limitation period does not begin to run until the minor reaches the age of 18. Thus, for example, if an 11-year-old child is bitten or injured by a dog in a state that has a 3 year statute of limitation period within which to file a lawsuit, they will have three years from the date they turn 18 years of age, and would thus have to file a lawsuit before they turn 21 years of age. In most instances, however, it is recommended that a parent or guardian bring a claim for a dog bite or injury claim on behalf of a minor child before waiting for the injured child to turn 18.
RECOVERABLE DAMAGES IN GENERAL:
Some states limit the type of damages that a person bitten or injured by a dog can recover. In most states, however, a person who is bitten or injured by a dog can recover damages that include medical expenses, future medical expenses, lost wages, loss of earnings capacity, physical pain and mental suffering, scarring, permanency of injury, periods of total and/or partial disability and loss of spousal consortium.