Dog Laws In New Hampshire

personal injury cape cod

A person injured by a dog can recover damages from the dog owner/keeper without having to prove negligence. In addition, New Hampshire law allows people injured by dogs to recover damages for dog bites and for “friendly” behavior including knockdowns.

Damages that can be recovered include medical bills, future medical bills, and lost wages. Punitive damages may be assessed in cases involving reckless or outrageous conduct.

Landlords can also be held liable for dog injuries if they fail to use reasonable care to prevent injury from a foreseeable risk. Meaning, if a landlord knows or should know that a tenant’s dog poses a risk of harm, and fails to take reasonable precautions to remove the threat.


In New Hampshire, the statute of limitations is 3 years from the date of injury. This means you must file a lawsuit against the owner/keeper of the dog within that time or you will be forever time barred from pursuing a case.

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 466:19

Injured By A Dog?

Dog Injuries Contact Form


The information provided on this website is for general informational purposes only.  The information on this site is not legal advice, and no attorney-client relationship is formed through the use of this website.  Laws relating to dog injuries can, and do, change.  To learn your legal rights, contact The Snow Law Firm, or contact a licensed and experienced attorney in your state.


In most states, when a minor is bitten or injured by a dog, the statute of limitation period does not begin to run until the minor reaches the age of 18.  Thus, for example, if an 11-year-old child is bitten or injured by a dog in a state that has a 3 year statute of limitation period within which to file a lawsuit, they will have three years from the date they turn 18 years of age, and would thus have to file a lawsuit before they turn 21 years of age.  In most instances, however, it is recommended that a parent or guardian bring a claim for a dog bite or injury claim on behalf of a minor child before waiting for the injured child to turn 18.


Some states limit the type of damages that a person bitten or injured by a dog can recover.  In most states, however, a person who is bitten or injured by a dog can recover damages that include medical expenses, future medical expenses, lost wages, loss of earnings capacity, physical pain and mental suffering, scarring, permanency of injury, periods of total and/or partial disability and loss of spousal consortium.